Linux Mint Logo Briefing for those working on graphics

desQEDo
  10 years ago
  Selected

I am an avid Linux Mint user and have been since LM4. I can unfortunately not contribute much in the way of code as I'm at least a bit, if not a byte, past learning that, being in my seventh decade.

Nevertheless, even if a bit late, (Sorry, I'm in Japan and everything was uncertain for a while), I'd like to submit my two pence worth of input to the logo discussion, whereby I am no graphic artist, simply an older guy who used to be in marketing and with a few ideas that may help to create an even better Linux Mint logo. Here my ideas I believe would be good to include in the brief for the artist.

All logo suggestions, including the current one, ignore one point I believe is important: the direction the logo shows. The single sharp point, like an arrow or graph should show a graphically positive direction which – in our predominantly western cultural graphical perception of positive – is generally with the point upward and to the right.

This is documented in many company logos, especially in the financial sector that takes such things extremely seriously.
Deutsche Bank Germany. A square with a '/' slash inside it. The history and development of their logo can be viewed online. The reasoning is compelling.
In short, the reasoning for the choice is as follows:
The Logo fulfills all aspects of the quality criteria required for a good brand:
With a simple yet striking form, the symbol has a high attention-provoking and recognition value.
The logo supports the identity of Deutsche Bank:
– the “slash” stands for consistent growth and dynamic development
– the square-shaped frame can be interpreted as a sign of security and a controlled environment.
In summary, the logo square stands for consistent growth in a secured environment.
It is striking and unmistakable as well as timeless and thus free of any fashionable accent.