Boot Linux Mint from external portable hard disk

guruwannabe
  8 years ago
  Considered

Install Linux Mint 11 onto external portable hard disk to bring the OS around - just like LiveCD.
Criterion:
1. Hard disk should be stable and rugged and reliable.
2. Good cable connection, else OS will hang...

1. Installed Linux Mint 11 64bit onto iomega eGo 500gb HDD.
2. Sucessfully booted from USB2 connection in 2 different computers:
a) ASUS P8 Z68-V Pro with Intel i7 2600K CPU, 8gb RAM
b) Acer Laptop Aspire 4736Z 3gb RAM
3. Minor issues to resolve
a) Mint 11 don't detect USB3 connection
b) Laptop LCD booted blank
i) Use external LCD monitor
ii) Boot option: "i915.modeset=0"
Latest comments
dagon 7 years ago

Also, please do finish this as a tutorial. Your idea has already been helpful to others and it's easier to find in that section.

/d

dagon 7 years ago

Hi guruwannabe!!! :)

"Hi Guys,
Thanks for all your comments.
As a newbie, I might have understood the concept of ideas wrongly.
I thought that 'personal' ideas means 'mini-projects' that I would like to do and share as contribution to the community or get the community involved if it is something that's worth other's effort."
Yes, you actually did understand it wrong, though the community site could do with a manual and a FAQ.
The purpose with the community site is to submit ideas concerning the functions of this site and also the Linuxmint OS. Do a search on the ideas that have been marked "Approved" and "Considered" for examples.

As this isn't an idea that can be forwarded to the developers for consideration I now reject it.

new -> rejected

The place to share "'mini-projects' that I would like to do ", is:
http://forums.linuxmint.com/

See you at the forum!

dagon

guruwannabe 8 years ago

@Bob_BC and @MongoTheMad,
Glad to hear that :).
Well, my LinuxMint11 PHD did not boot from some PCs. Have you experienced this and how did you overcome this?