They offer different flash templates with latest features.
Login

Forgot password
Register
Back

Grub Wizard

Created 7 years ago, edited 7 years ago.
Status changed 5 years ago
Author:

j0lt
Selected
  Score:
315 votes
Idea:

I am new in Linux world, but I'm getting more and more interested as development continues.

What I would really like to see in future versions is a neat GUI based wizard for editing your Grub menu.

I find it a bit annoying, because I am still a newbie, that I have to manually change files in order to, both remove unused entries plus still setting Windows as main OS until I get more and more used to Mint and hopefully switch over some day.

I think also many first-timers find this annoying, because they want to test it out, but still want to roll back within their safety net (Windows).

This GUI Wizard shouldn't be that difficult nor hold many settings.
Being able to:
- Check which entries should be visible
- Ability to move entries up and down for visual presentation
- Edit count down delay etc.

[x] Linux Mint 8
[ ] Linux Mint 8 (fail safe mode)
[ ] Memtest
[X] Windows XP Professional

I would also like this to be part of the installation process. The installer scans drives anyway for the Partitioner. Then after setting up partitions you could get presented with this Grub Wizard and with a few clicks your machine will boot the way you want.

Comments:

2 years ago

bernd-wechner
This sort of exists.

apt search grub-customizer

2 years ago

winemaker9
Check out "grub-customizer"
https://launchpad.net/~danielrichter2007/+archive/ubuntu/grub-customizer

I think you'll find it does everything you want plus. I've been using it since grub2 came about.

2 years ago

maxgeek333
Add boot-repair is a good idea !  
2 years ago

Kobalt
I'm new to Linux Mint, too. Absolutely agree to idea starter.  
2 years ago

randysvh