Animated Flash Wallpaper

Rizla
  9 years ago
  Considered

Static Desktop Wallpapers get boring after a while, eventually you can't find anything to inspire you to help dress up your amazing mint install. I can't believe that someone hasn't implemented Adobe Flash Animated Wallpapers before.

Flash is vector based generally and that means that the wallpapers wouldn't take much resources, plus because Flash is also interactive you could switch off the paper if you were running heavy tasks if necessary.

Wouldn't you just love a 3D vector animated starfield behind all your windows? or a scalable digital desktop clock, or even a colour cycling plasma fractal... way cooler than a static background any day!

I realise it's not a complete new idea as many mobile phones make use of Flash for animated wallpaper, and many screen savers use Flash - but it seems to be missing in OS desktops.

There's just so many great things that could be created by everyone!

If only I was a coder... sniff.
Latest comments
governmint 1 year ago

I think Linux Mint should have the option of animated wallpapers. If Flash is buggy, make it something else; animated gifs, short HD footage in MP4, or whatever. This request dates from 8 years ago, and 8 years ago the computers where not as powerful as the new ones are today. While using the computer resources at the right place is good thinking, a certain level of cuteness is always appealing. I don't see why it would drive people away from Linux. Come on! Geeks are known to be the ones that 'Wow' their friends with leading edge gadgets that you can't get nowhere else.

RayWoods 7 years ago

If there is a way to lower productivity on the desktop, this would be it! (Next we will be having that guy on his desert island back as a screen saver.)

Sorry: New > Rejected

SeventhReign 8 years ago

I'm fairly certain there is a reason desktops dont use flash animated wallpapers. Flash in Linux = Glitchy and Resource Intensive.

blueXrider 8 years ago