MintInstall Undo Installation

JohanSJA
  9 years ago
  Under dev. review

As I am new to Linux Mint, I am constantly on a search for software for different purposes. And in result, I have installed a bunch of software for the same purposes. Some work great and some don't.

It would be great if we can click on install (which also pull in some dependencies), try the software, and uninstall (which also remove the dependencies if it is not needed by others).
Latest comments
RayWoods 7 years ago

I would have expected the Software Centre to automatically remove dependences when removing packages, just like it does when installing a package and dependences are installed.

It may just be a point of sudo apt-get autoremove and perhaps this should be built into the Software Centre.

New > Considered

mintystark 8 years ago

Yes, there are other ways to do this, however for newbies and others to be convinced not to use Win, then a nice GUI like Mintinstall is required.

Terminall is not good for newbies and people coming from other OS's.

Package Manager is better, but is still overwhelming with package names that don't make any sense.

So for experienced users it is not necassary, but for new users then I think it is extremely useful.

I do second Dagon on having a setting for it.
I also like the idea of only removing it if no other applications need them.

dagon 8 years ago

A setting like:

[x] Automatically remove dependencies when removing an application.
[x] promoted :)

blueXrider 8 years ago

use "aptitude"

m4daredsun 8 years ago

I am promoting this idea. MintInstall can potentially be an interesting tool, but it needs consistent improvements in my opinion. Exactly like this one.

I know that apt-get autoremove and similar comments can do exactly this. However, a non-experienced Mint user would probably be happy with a "MintInstall Undo Installation"

Ki3rk3gaard 9 years ago

sudo apt-get autoremove

frankeinstein 9 years ago