Installing Ibus-Avro (Bangla) on Linux Mint Debian Edition (LMDE)

sweuk
  10 years ago

Hello, I'm a newbie user of Linux Mint LMDE, and this is my first attempt to write a tutorial. I wanted to share this for anyone like me, specifically wanting to use Avro Keyboard for writing in Bangla on LMDE in applications such as LibreOffice, etc.

LMDE, by default, offers Bangla (Bengali) writing integration using different fully UNICODE-compliant keyboard patterns: Boisakhi, Bornona, Prabhat, and Gitanjali. All of these work smoothly on LibreOffice, provided if you are familiar with their keyboard layouts (These can be accessed from: Menu>Preferences>Keyboard>Layout Settings>Using the + sign at the left-hand corner of the window to add a preferred keyboard.)

As the ibus-avro has been designed primarily keeping Ubuntu users in mind, this tutorial is only for those wanting to try English to Bangla phonetic typing using the Avro Keyboard on LMDE systems. For regular Mint editions, visit the detailed tutorial created by users at the Bangla Linux Community forum  or by the Avro developers.

I don't know if there are shorter routes, but here is how it worked for me:

1) Go to Linux Mint's Software Manager from your computer's Menu, and search for these three packages and install them, one by one:

libgirepository1.0-dev

libgtk2.0-dev

libmojzs185-dev

libdbus-glib-1-dev

2) Download this file:  http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/universe/g/gjs/gjs_1.32.0.orig.tar.xz. After download is complete, right click, and extract to a folder.

2) Inside the folder, right click and open a terminal. Type the following and press enter:

./configure

This will check for the required software needed to build the program.

3) If you'll receive an error message, saying you need to install certain software packages (something like "No package 'mozjs185' found", etc.) , install the needed packages by using the following command on your terminal

sudo apt-get install chowmein